What will this day be like? I wonder… What will my future be? I wonder…


Yes, OK.. I’ll admit it.. I LOVE The Sound of Music! Probably saw that movie a million times and never get bored by watching it. But that’s not what this blog is about, not really…

Today is the first day back in the office after a long break and all day I’ve had this song going through my head… the lyrics are quite suitable for how I’m feeling today:

What will this day be like?
I wonder
What will my future be?
I wonder
It could be so exciting
To be out in the world
To be free
My heart should be wildly rejoicing
Oh whats the matter with me?
I’ve always longed for adventure
To do the things I’ve never dared
Now here i’m facing adventure
Then why am I so scared?

Don’t get me wrong – I’m not depressed or anything! Far from it! Every day I do something that I am scared off.. it has been part of my daily routine for quite some time now and it makes me stretch myself further and further. It’s an amazing way to grow as a business person, a professional as a human being.

The reason why the song resonates with me today is because I find myself pondering the future of ITIL as a framework. It is now 2010 and I’ve been involved with the ITIL Framework since 1997. I have seen it go through the versions from 1 till 3 and to me the ITIL Framework is similar to the air that I breathe. I don’t need to understand the exact chemical compound to experience the positive effects of breathing it every second of each day.

But I have also watched from a distance how other people get more and more confused about the ‘ circus’  that is created around the framework. The certification scheme that makes you collect 22 points is fair enough, but in the past 2 years the rules have been evolving around the certification. Some of the changes:

  1. Originally you were not allowed to mix-and-match V2 with V3 certifications.. but now you are! Doesn’t matter how you get your 22 points, as long as you get there.
  2. The ITIL advanced level is now called ITIL Master, which sounds very much like the ITIL V2 Masters level (marketing term, not the official qualification name) by which the ITIL V2 Service Management Certificate is known.. but it is NOT the same.
  3. The addition of extra courses that fall outside of the Foundation-Intermediate- Expert pathway but still count towards the Expert status. (and while we’re on the subject.. when you have ITIL Expert, does that mean that you get credits for EXIN’s ISO/IEC 20000 pathway as well as sort of cross-pollination?)
  4. Last year saw the introduction of a software certification, but what does that mean? Many vendors claim that their software is ITIL compliant, but is that now officially against the rules? Does every software vendor have to rewrite their marketing materials to stay in line with the official dogma?
  5. And best of all: the refresh of the refresh! I have been receiving many emails from clients and IT Professionals asking me if they now have to re-sit their exams because ITIL is changing again?!!

The most successful things in life seem to get to this status because of their simplicity. Think paperclip or iPod, it looks easy and it works…  And in its basic form, ITIL has (had?) the ability to fit within the same category. It was simple – never easy – and clear for every party involved what the features and benefits are of the framework. But what about the future? Will ITIL become too scary, too difficult, too intense, too convoluted for people who enter the amazing world of IT? Too difficult to even want to understand??

What will the future of ITIL be?  I wonder…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

